milestone healthcare WEBINARS

Please visit our channel to view our past webinars


Mark your calendars now to attend these free and informative presentations throughout the year!

Each of these webinars presents you a free educational opportunity!

See below for details on each of our scheduled webinars:


Next Webinar:

                                   

“Treating Patients with Delirium and Dementia”

Join us for a webinar on Apr 23, 2019 at 12:30 PM CDT. 



The purpose of this webinar is to assist the clinical treatment team in understanding the differences between “Delirium” and “Dementia” especially when the patient exhibits signs and symptoms of these conditions during his/her intensive inpatient rehabilitation program. Questions frequently encountered include:

Can patients with cognitive deficits benefit from rehab? YES! & YES!!
         • They can participate
         • They can learn
         • They can improve
         • They can benefit

Is the treatment team uncomfortable treating patients with cognitive impairments because they believe that……..?
         • They can’t/won’t follow directions
         • They can’t retain training provided
         • They have difficulty communicating
         • They are unsafe

Throughout this webinar, “Best Practices” for treatment of patients with diagnoses of cognitive deficits in the IRF setting will be reviewed / discussed.

Objectives:

Define & differentiate diagnoses: “Delirium” vs. “Dementia”
Review causes/predictors of “Post Operative Delirium”; and, prognosis with appropriate treatment.
Review the types of Dementia; Treatment Options; and, Challenges for : “Permanent Dementia & Reversible Dementia”
Stress importance of early assessment by rehab nurses and clinical team.

Discuss “Strength Based Approach” when developing the POC for the patient with diagnosis of Dementia including:
         • Communication Strategies
         • Space Retrieval Strategies

Recognize importance of “Activities Based Model” for patients with diagnosis of Dementia.

Presenter: Karen Hickey, MileStone Clinical Consultant - Program Development & Services
Date: Tuesday April 23, 2019
Time: 1:30 PM EST; 12:30 PM CST; 11:30 AM MST; and 10:30 AM PST

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.


JOIN OUR MAILING LIST!